top of page
  • mopilates4every1

The Orange of Newton’s Tree

So you may have noticed that I signed off my last post as moShin, moPilates, and meatworld, and thought that was interested (or not).

So one of my alias since graduating high school has been moshin, because my name is Monica Shin, but I loved it because it’s pronounced like motion and those who grew up with me will attest that I can be like the Energizer Bunny when awake. When I’m asleep, I’m pretty dead to the world. I’m basically Newton’s First Law of Motion. LOL

My name is pronounced mon-i-ca or mon-i-ka, but I prefer mo and not mon.

moshin led to moPilates which is also short for mo(re) Pilates. (The origins of moshin may be shared later.)

And lastly, meatworld. It’s technically b’meatworld, where the b is silent and it stands for beef and bacon. I’m currently a meat-a-tarian. I really don’t like almost every vegetable which I refer to as veggi(e)-terrors. I ate my first real salad my second year of college and it was Caesar Salad, drenched in dressing.

While technically willing, I was highly skeptical and in disbelief when I tried roasted asparagus after deciding I did not hate caesar salads. I no longer hate asparagus if cooked well. (Grilled with salt and pepper doesn’t cut it.) But I do have a “why?!?” aspect of eating asparagus because of its olfactory properties (google “Asparagus Metabolites”) that I am subject to. So one section of this blog will include an eatable list of healthy things.

Side note: In my world, there is edible and eatable. All things edible are not necessarily eatable, and all things eatable are not necessarily ‘edible’. Eatable items are things I think should and can be enjoyed as eaten. Edible things are things that the world has determined can be eaten and there are folks that eat them. For example: pickles are eatable, cucumbers are edible.  And the eatable list is maintained with this blog. The edible list of maintained by scientists I think.

My general diet consists of carbs and protein with veggiterrors if I give in to the whole “it’s healthy” and “it’s good for you/me” mindset and eat them “willingly” plus the occasional dessert sugars.

But my 2018 new year’s resolution is to “adult more” (adult has become a verb) so I am trying to eat more of the veggiterrors that come with my meals when I order take out. The other day, I ate all of the broccoli except the really big ones that came with my pad see ew (Thai food).

I was and am really proud of myself for that. Broccoli killed Homer Simpson twice in the same episode, just saying that I used to say that a lot.

-moShin, moPilates, b’meatworld

p.s. Why orange of Newton’s tree? The Apple was related to gravity, I have decided the Orange is related to laziness because I do not eat oranges but I drink orange juice, which I love.

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page