top of page
  • mopilates4every1

Fears, Apprehensions, and Doubts

(Written on around Jan 31, but finished on Feb 5)

As with anything new and completely different, most people have fears, hesitation, and thoughts of uncertainty about their Success, Ability to achieve success, and their Ability to look good/comparable in their attempt of this new venture. (Otherwise known as, Will I fail? Can I succeed? Will I get embarrassed trying?)

I will start the in-studio training in less than 4 days and I am nervous. But the aspect of the training that makes me most nervous is the “Ability to look good/comparable as I go through Teacher Training (aka TT)?”

This is because I’ve never been very good at DOING Pilates. I enjoy it and I do what I can, but I hope my fellow Teacher Training Participants do not laugh at me or want to laugh at me when I ca not do a move during the “practice teaching one another” portions.

Luckily, I am not worried that I may not finish/graduate or that I can. I have always believed “where there is a will, there is a way” and the stories of things I have attempted that most are surprised I even tried are numerous.

Side bar: My proudest accomplishment that isn’t super emotional is: beating spider solitaire in expert mode (all 4 suits) back in college. That took a LOT of perseverance and ‘undo’s. The cherry on top were the fireworks the game launch when you win. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fa7LvAr0oZs (not my video) Footnote 1.

Plus, the Club Pilates Teacher Training program is designed so that only quitters (and narrow minded folks) fail. Footnote 2.

Why I will look pathetic, that is the word to use:

a. because of my current body state (overweight) and my scoliosis, I am worried of what I will be able to do and more importantly not be able to during the in-studio training when my fellow Teacher Training Participants and I practice teaching certain exercises/movements to one another, as a student/client/customer. Footnote 3.

b. others will have a lot more Pilates experience and mastery and I will be the weakest link in the group because I have only maybe 30-40 hours of Pilates under my proverbial belt.

b.5. I know that the first two days are the most overwhelming because those days cover Mat Pilates in a very quick pace to fit a LOT of material and I do not have a lot of time this week to prepare and complete the ‘advance preparation’ aka independent study homework. (Writing this blog probably does not help me prepare for Saturday.)

Footnote 1: My emotional proudest accomplishments:

a. supporting my sister at her senior year cheer-leading banquet in lieu of my parents who did not attend because parents supporting their kid’s extracurricular activities are more Western/American customs,

b. a high school basketball game where I was able to steal the ball and complete a lay-up, fall on my knees because I got fouled, but still make the “and one” penalty free throw, and then continue the game.) and

c. When my SAT prep course instructor read my college personal statement(s) and his only feedback was “good”. He was notoriously a direct, brash, and brutally honest counselor. Later, my high school English teacher read my personal statement(s) and the feedback I received was “I could hear you saying the words as I read it.” (positive)

All other normal “accomplishments” like graduating from high school, college, passing the CPA (accounting) exam, etc etc seem to “normal” to be my personal proudest accomplishments.

Footnote 2: The mentor Master Trainer and the Teacher Training Participant will jointly put together a plan of development and while a year is included in one’s tuition, most Master Trainers are invested in their participants’ success and will not nickel and dime for their time and assistance. After the year, if further training and mentorship is needed to help a participant to graduate, the Director of Education or one of Club Pilates’ corporate Master Trainers will provide additional guidance until the participant graduates (additional mentorship within reason will be provided without charge as a demonstration of Club Pilates corporate’s commitment to the participant’s success).

Footnote 3: I would prefer to not become a “do as I say, not as I do because I can’t do it” type of Pilates instructor. As a result, I am looking forward to the 100 hours of self-practice required as part of the comprehensive education as I hope to do more Pilates myself (exercise more).

Wish me luck folks!

moPilates, moShin, meatworld

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page